Few golf clubs in the Netherlands have such a rich reputation as De Pan. No matter how modern De Pan may be now: the traditional setting gives the feeling of playing on historical ground. The images below show the development of De Pan from its foundation in 1894 to the present. 


We honored the golf course with a nod to the brilliant architect Harry Colt who designed our course and a contemporary band with the lustrum theme 'Coltplay'.


Both the first men’s team and the first women’s team become national champions.

2005 - 2011

The first women’s team of De Pan become national champion six times in a row in the period between 2005 - 2011.


In 1999, a team from UGC de Pan won the 'Overseas Cup' in the annual International Colt Tournament at Stoke Park, Buckinghamshire, England for the first and only time.


In 1994, the 100th anniversary is celebrated by, among other things, the members contributing a bronze statue of de Panfluiter.


In 1982, the Dutch Open is played on De Pan for the last time. 

The winner is Paul Way. 
Score: 276 (-12).


In 1969, the Dutch Open is played on De Pan again.

The winner is Guy Wolstenholme.


Jonkheer Alfred Calkoen van Limmen

One of the best amateur golfers
President De Pan
President Dutch Golf Committee
Editor Golf magazine
Mentor for the young golfers


In 1966, De Pan is the scene of an episode of the series:

Shells Wonderful  World of Golf.


In 1965, Cees Dorrestein and Jan Ouderdorp were appointed as professionals, succeeding Jos van Dijk.


In 1964, the first club magazine was published on the initiative of J.L.A. Baron van Ittersum; in 1974, it was given the name Pan-Flet.


In 1958, Jos van Dijk celebrates his “50th anniversary” at the club, he has been employed there for 40 years.


In 1946, Jonkheer Alfred Calkoen van Limmen became president of the club. 
He continues to be president until 1964.


KLM Dutch Open for Professionals

Winner: Flory Van Donck
Score: 285 (-3)


In 1936, Prince Bernard played De Pan for the first time, even before his marriage to Princess Juliana.
He shall remain a loyal visitor and becomes a member in 1938. 


In 1934, the Dutch Open is played on De Pan, this time over 72 holes.

Winner: Sid Brews.


It was decided to extend the course to 18 holes; the second nine holes were opened in October 1932. 


The first nine holes were opened on 11 May 1929. When the course was commissioned, the name of the club was changed to Utrechtsche Golfclub 'de Pan', based on the name of the site that was traditionally known as the Panbos.


On 16 September 1928, the foundation stone is laid for the clubhouse, designed by Mr Mertens.


The Doornsche Golf Club was renamed the Utrechtsche Golf Club De Pan in 1927 and moved to the current course in Bosch en Duin (municipality of Zeist).


Since the owner of the sites wanted to use them again, the club decided in 1926 to build a new course in Bosch en Duin; a site provided by NV Schaerweijder Bosschen. English golf architect, Harry S. Colt, was asked to construct the course. 


In 1919, Jos van Dijk was appointed professional as the successor to Henry Burrows.

He started as a caddy in 1908. 
In 1927, he participated in the British Open.

Jos van Dijk was a professional for more than 45 years, gaining national and international recognition.


The club has been the scene of the Dutch Open five times: in 1918 (at the Doornsche Golfclub), 1934, 1937, 1969 and 1982. 
In 1918, the Dutch Open Golf Championship is played over 36 holes at the Doornsche Golfclub.

The winner is the Belgian, Florent Gevers.


Club members have always been involved in the development of golf in the Netherlands. In 1914, for example, the secretary of the Doornsche Golfclub, Jonkheer G.F. van Tets van Goidschalxoort, took the initiative to set up the Dutch Golf Committee in February 1914, which became the Dutch Golf Federation in 1972.


Utrechtse Golfclub “de Pan” was founded in January 1894 as the Doornsche Golfclub. After being established in Doorn, 9 holes were used behind the Bornia house in Driebergen in March 1894.